Free Motion Quilting

Practice Practice Practice: Free Motion Quilting

I’ve been following several tutorials and reading up alot on free motion quilting.  I attempted a small stippling project some months ago and have been practicing some more.

Many quilters suggest practicing by hand as well as on the machine, and so I’ve been doodling and drawing and seeing quilt patterns everywhere.

I was in a book store a few weeks ago and came across this colouring book for adults.

DSC_0200

Inside is a whole world of patterns that I have been colouring, tracing and reproducing (with varying degrees of success!).

DSC_0210    DSC_0211    DSC_0215 DSC_0216 DSC_0222DSC_0226

I’ve been using these patterns as inspiration for doodles and quilting patterns. First on paper, then with the machine.  I started with a dark thread so I could easily see what I was doing.  There’s nothing forgiving about contrasting thread!

DSC_0348 DSC_0343 DSC_0349

The first one is clearly pretty wonky, but they got better as I went along.

I think I’m just about ready to apply my pattern to a quilt top!

4 thoughts on “Practice Practice Practice: Free Motion Quilting”

Leave a Reply

